The Names and Order of the Books of the Old Testament

Author: E W Bullinger
Availability: eBook
Price: £0.00
Qty:     - OR -   Add to Wish List
Add to Compare

Available on the iBookstore 

“The Names and Order of the Books of the Old Testament” are the words found at the beginning of every English Bible, yet the order of the books in the Hebrew Bible is quite different, as are the names.

The present order in our English Bible comes to us direct from the Latin Vulgate; and this again was copied from the ancient Greek Translation, called the Septuagint (known by the abbreviation LXX), made about the third century before Christ. In this ancient Greek Version the “names” of the books were changed, either when this translation was made, or subsequently, and their “order” was re-arranged. No one can tell us why or when this re-arrangement was made.

The Vulgate Version, as we have said, followed the Septuagint; and even when the Vulgate was not the basis of a translation it exercised a great influence in all succeeding versions, Latin being well understood, and Hebrew being but little known. However, there is no reason why Bible students of today should not be acquainted with God’s order and names, and learn the lessons which He would teach them.

Book / Booklet
Binding Saddle Stitched
Paper Quality High
Size A5
Target Audience People who are familiar with the Bible
Date of Publication

Write a review

Your Name:

Your Review: Note: HTML is not translated!

Rating: Bad           Good

Enter the code in the box below:

The Open Bible Trust © 2018
503 Service Temporarily Unavailable

503 Service Temporarily Unavailable